5 Key Mobile Marketing Metrics

Not so long ago, app developers were all about deciding the success of apps based on analytics. The statistics were assessed to determine just how good an app was doing in terms of user appeal and feedback. At one time, developers measured the app’s overall success based on its ratings and the download count (or sales). These were key mobile marketing metrics.

However, these days there are better ways to assess the overall success of any mobile application. These marketing metrics are something every developer needs to know about if they are to decide the success of an application.

Every measurement shared here consists of a formula or a way of getting information that you can use to draw insights about the app and how well it is doing. You can figure out how much revenue an app is generating per user, the costs per loyal user, and the costs per install and compare it with mobile application development costs

The latter figures will reveal how successful you’re marketing is and if users are finding your app useful or enjoyable. You can also find out how people are engaging with the app, the parts of the app that are most enticing, and if your application requires changes or improvements.

Mobile marketing metrics to track in 2017

1. Know Your ARPU

ARPU - mobile marketing metric

ARPU is an acronym for Average Revenue per User. The ARPU is broken down into a formula consisting of the amount of money the app generates within the framework of a set period over the number of active app users within the same timeframe.

Bear in mind that ARPU will be different for every mobile app category as well as for every revenue model. However, there are some comparisons that can be made that can prove useful in determining app success. ARPU by revenue model can help you take another look at the revenue brought in through advertising; fee-based downloads in-app purchases, freemium apps, and subscriptions for ease of comparison.

The ARPU can help you in finding out the average revenue the app is generating per user. The latter figure is important because you can use it in other metrics. First, in CPLU (Cost per Loyal User), you can compare the ARPU to the CPLU and if the latter is less than the former, you’re using your marketing methods correctly.

Essentially, it reveals you are generating more income than it costs to acquire the attention of the consumer. Next, in the Retention metric, the ARPU is part of finding out the lifetime value of those consumers you have as loyal users. Therefore, if you have an app that makes $0.50 a month and you retain a consumer for about 5 months on average, the lifetime value is $2.50.

2. Know Your CPLU & CPI

CPI - mobile marketing metric for applications
CPLU - mobile marketing metric for applications

CPI is an acronym for Cost per Install. CPLU is also an acronym standing for Cost per Loyal User. The CPI is a formula that equals the advertising dollars you spend divided by the number of new installations you get within a given advertising campaign. The CPLU however, is the number of advertising dollars you spend divided by the amount of new and loyal application uses you get from the ad campaign.

These two figures can be used along with your ARPU to find out the return on investment you are getting from all of your advertising and marketing. For your marketing to prove successful, your CPLU needs to be less than your ARPU.

3. How Are Your Users Engaging?

Engagement is not something you can figure out by a formula, and it requires an assessment of how your users are making use of the mobile app in question. In understanding a user’s behaviors, you can get an inside view of what is most appealing to your users and what features may be unnecessary.

Engagement is an umbrella term covering a variety of user actions including an assessment of app screens viewed per session, the conversion rates, interactions, opt-ins, opt-outs, and session intervals and lengths. Let’s look at each of these analytics a bit more in-depth.

Customer loyalty measures how often your users return to the app and use it. Your customer’s engagement is vital to the success of the app, as engaged users are being called the bread and butter of an application’s overall success. If you have users that are remaining engaged with the app, it means they like what the app has to offer and are therefore more likely to spread the good word about the app to others – word of mouth advertising goes a long way in the mobile app industry.

What’s more, you can track the usage of loyal users over a longer time to see if trends in application development crop up or if the users repeat actions that may offer insight into how you can improve the application or enhance user engagement.

4. Know Your Love Ratio

Love Ratio - metric for mobile apps

The love ratio is a mobile marketing metric that’s been in use for a while and a broad assessment of statistics reveal that the answer is yes, just over 57.70% of the time. The measurement gives you a good idea just how much your users are enjoying the app and if the numbers are low it suggests you’ll need to make some changes to the app to make it more loveable.

Bear in mind, this figure can also vary if a person is not giving an honest answer to the survey and is just clicking on whatever answer will dismiss the survey question quickly. Despite potential biased answers and incomplete assessment values due to lack of user response, the Love Ratio formula still reveals vital information to the app developer, especially over the course of version histories and time.

5. Monitoring Retention Rate

Retention rate as a key marketing metrci for applications

There’s a formula for determining your retention rate, which is a metric marking the number of users you have returning to your mobile app on a weekly basis. Aggregate retention is the number of actives you have during a month divided by the install amounts during the same period. To determine what the retention rate for a specified time is, you need to note the number of app users you’ve retained by the end of a specified time and divide it by the installs during that period.

Broad statistics suggest that as many as 40% of mobile UX apps continue to use the app following the first 30 after the installation, but this number dramatically declines to a little as 4% within the year following the date of install.

The retention rate will allow you to define, not just how many downloads you have, but how many users you have. Even better, you can figure out active users over the course of time. Even if you have 100,000 downloads, 50% of that may have retained users over the course of time, and only by knowing your retention will you know how many downloaders actually remained active users.

When you know the monthly active users, you can use the figure to multiply it against the monthly average revenue you’re making per user to determine your overall revenue.

In essence, there are plenty of ways to measure what is happening with your mobile app. There are formulas you can use to find out user behavior, actions, and if they like using the application you‘ve created. A developer can then use the insights gained to improve the application and subsequently increase revenue.

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9 Alternative Android App Stores

Every developer has one of the most difficult questions posed after completing an excellent Android app: which App Store will generate the most money? Most will opt for the $25 route of Google Play Store as it has one of the most guaranteed audiences. However, there are also other options that may come up.

Best App Store Alternative for Android

The biggest issue with choosing this standard option is that the competition is fierce. Below is listed some of the best alternative Android App Stores around so that you will get access to more localized and specialized customer audiences.

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Besides rarely charging for listing an app there are several more advantages for choosing an alternative to Google Play Store:

  • More options for promotion
  • In our list of app stores for Android, you can find many platforms that can give a boost for the app by featuring it as an app of the day or provide app owner with some money-saving offers for advertising.
  • Relevant recommendations
    Other Android app stores offer a list of recommended apps that are not displayed on Google Play Store top ten charts.
  • Curated list
    Some of the Play store alternatives have a very narrow focus and a small selection of apps that have been filtered by topic, purpose, quality, age, etc.
  • Local portals
    Some of the different app stores cater to countries and offer localized apps that are not presented somewhere else.

SlideME

As a long-term player in the app store business, it has been running even longer than Google Play Store, SlideME is the most regularly found app store on most Android devices after the main competitor.

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Biggest Advantage: Payment can be made via PayPal, and the app store only charges 20% for each purchase of your app.

Website: slideme.org

Amazon Appstore

While not as old as Google Play Store or SlideME, the Amazon Appstore is one of their most successful competitors. With the introduction of Kindle Fire, the Fire Phone and a range of Android devices running Fire OS, there is a growing market for apps sold through Amazon.

There are some issues with running apps through the Fire OS but the majority of developers only need a short time to get their app ready for Amazon. In fact, many Android apps already run perfectly fine on Fire OS.

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Biggest Advantages: It is possible to publish HTML5 and web apps on the Amazon Appstore. It is a growing marketplace with hundreds of thousands of apps and a large customer base. The Amazon Appstore is also remarkably easy to navigate for all developers.

Website: amazon.com/mobile-apps

1Mobile Market Android App Store

1Mobile Market

A different approach to generating a successful app is focusing only on the popularity of the app. 1Mobile Market is only for free apps so it is a great place to upload an app to test it out on the market.

Read also: Cost to develop an app

The marketplace itself costs nothing to upload your app but this doesn’t mean it is full of terrible apps. Each app has to pass through a selection process to check for malware and to keep a high quality of 1Mobile Market apps.

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Biggest Advantage: A useful recommendation system based on preferences means that apps can become successful very quickly. With over 100 million installs and hundreds and thousands of Android apps listed, it is a great place to upload your app.

Website: mobile.1mobile.com

ANDROID APP DEVELOPMENT COST

Samsung Galaxy Apps

From the company that manufacturers the most Android phones it is no surprise that Samsung has developed their own app store. Compared to other app stores, Samsung Galaxy Apps has a relatively small number of apps but this can be positive for most apps to stand out.

Biggest Advantage: Every Samsung Galaxy device has the app store installed so there is an immediate and large customer base.

Website: www.samsung.com

Mobile9 Android App Store

Mobile9

This app store can be compared to a social network more than app stores by itself. Mobile9 has millions of active users and each one has the ability to comment on and share their installed apps. Publishing an app is free and with such a wide user base it can mean great results for a well-developed app.

Biggest Advantage: There is a huge download rate with one of the smallest number of app developers; getting noticed with Mobile9 can be relatively easy.

Website: mobile9.com

ANDROID MOBILE APP DEVELOPER

Opera Mobile Store

With a direct link with Yandex, Opera Mobile Store has access to almost the entire Russian app customer market by all their apps being present in the Yandex App Store. The store has over 100 million visits every single month, and there are over a million downloads each day.

Biggest Advantage: To get access to this huge audience is completely free. Opera Mobile Store, however, does take 30% of any sales, but it is worth it for the sales this app store generates.

Website: apps.opera.com

Mobango Mobile Power

Mobango

A base of millions of customers and thousands of downloads per day; Mobango is a forerunner for a Google Play Store app alternative. It has a relatively small app total in its store so it isn’t too difficult to become one of its top downloaded apps.

Biggest Advantage: Uploading your app is completely free and no percentage is taken.

Website: mobango.com

GOOGLE PLAY STORE OPTIMIZATION

F-droid

For a more open approach to apps, one of the best alternatives is F-droid. The entire site and app store is run by volunteers and relies on donations. It only allows free apps and has a policy of not pushing apps that include paid add-ons or adverts.

Biggest Advantage: With a strong customer base and absolutely no costs there is nothing to lose by uploading your app to this store and testing out its popularity.

Website: f-droid.org

GetJar

This app store actively encourages its developers to use their freemium model which included adverts and in-app currency. GetJar Gold is one of the largest virtual currencies in use and is available to millions of users.

Biggest Advantages: 30 million users and a great recommendation service that allows for quick discovery of new apps.

Website: getjar.com

HOW TO MONETIZE AN APP

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Takeaway

Choosing the best alternative Android market may seem to be a tough task. Every store has its pros and cons. You can find free app store for Android or the one that charges a fee, some of them a very specific, others vice versa very popular and highly competitive.

ANDROID APPS VS. IOS APPS – WHAT AND WHY IS BETTER IN 2021?

Neither of these best free app markets can 100 percent replace Google Play Store, they can become an additional channel to drive more downloads.

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